Franz Kafka – the starving artist

Paperback, 353 pages
Published 1986 by Szépirodalmi Könyvkiadó, Budapest
I’ve seen reviews where they translated as ‘the hunger artist’ but if you translate from hungarian title to English its starving artist. I’m not opening a discussion about it I’m just noting that you can find this under many different names.
It is a short story collection and I start to realize when it comes to buying Kafka you are sort of only buying the same story collection with a different story’s title on the cover.
Because I own and read the one with the metamorphosis on the title and after buying this one I realized many of the stort stories are the same as there except for a few.
the book that im comparing to is this one: 31308074 it has more stories in it but the one I picked up has stories that aren’t included like:
  • the bachelor’s ill luck
  • clothes
  • letter to my father
  • the heater
  • little fable
  • the way home
  • give it up!

my personal favorite was the little fable :

“Alas”, said the mouse, “the whole world is growing smaller every day. At the beginning it was so big that I was afraid, I kept running and running, and I was glad when I saw walls far away to the right and left, but these long walls have narrowed so quickly that I am in the last chamber already, and there in the corner stands the trap that I am running into.”

“You only need to change your direction,” said the cat, and ate it up.

my least favorite was the letter to his father

you can read short stories of him online here

I gave it 3/5 stars because it is almost everything I’ve already read and the ones I didn’t yet are really short or tedious like the letter to his father.

Leave a Reply

